skip to Main Content

Montgomery is the capital city of Alabama and the second largest city in the state. The metropolitan area is comprised of Autauga, Elmore, Lowndes and Montgomery counties.

Population Estimates

City of Montgomery 199,518
Autauga County 55,504
Elmore County 81,677
Lowndes County 10,076
Montgomery County 226,646
Montgomery Metropolitan Area 373,903

Source: U.S. Census Bureau


Average Maximum Temperature 76.4 degrees
Average Minimum Temperature 53.9 degrees
Average Temperature 65.2 degrees
Total Rainfall 57.44 inches
Total Snowfall 0.0 inches

Source: National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Central Time Zone

Property Tax

Residential is assessed at 10% and commercial is assessed at 20%:

State $0.65 per $100 of assessed value
County $1.75 per $100 of assessed value
City $1.25 per $100 of assessed value
Combined rate is $3.65 per $100 of assessed value

Sales Tax

Sales tax in the city of Montgomery is 10% (4% state, 3.5% city, 2.5% county)
Sales tax for automobiles is 3.583%

Corporate Income Tax

The state rate is 6.5%. Federal tax is an allowed deduction for state income tax

Individual Income Tax

Sliding scale up to 5%. Federal tax is an allowed deduction for state income tax


Montgomery, Alabama took the number one spot among winners of the Best Historic City category in the 10 Best Readers’ Choice travel award contest sponsored by USA TODAY.


Montgomery is the first city in Alabama to earn a public protection classification of 1 from the Insurance Services Office.

Back To Top